David Byrne announces massive UK and Ireland arena tour

Via NME

Photo: Getty

By Andrew Trendell

Burning Down The House...

David Byrne has announce a lengthy 2018 UK and Ireland arena tour in support of his acclaimed latest album, ‘American Utopia’. Full dates and ticket details are below.

Buy David Byrne tour tickets here

One of the Talking Heads icon’s most adventurous and theatrical tours to date, his extended run of shows will now call at Leeds, Glasgow, Dublin, Birmingham, Cardiff, London, Brighton and Manchester in October and November.

“We’ll be doing some new songs, and many others that will, I assume, be familiar,” said Byrne on his current production. “I’m excited. This is the most ambitious show I’ve done since the shows that were filmed for Stop Making Sense, so fingers crossed.”

Byrne’s full list of upcoming UK and Ireland tour dates are below. Tickets to the newly announced October and November dates will be on sale from 12pm on June 18. All tickets are available here.

Thursday June 14 2018 – OXFORD New Theatre
Friday June 15 2018 – GLASGOW Royal Concert Hall
Sunday June 17 2018 – BIRMINGHAM Symphony Hall
Monday June 18 2018 – MANCHESTER O2 Apollo
Tuesday June 19 2018 – LONDON Eventim Apollo
Wednesday June 20 2018 – LONDON Eventim Apollo
Sunday October 21 2018 – LEEDS first direct Arena
Monday October 22 2018 – GLASGOW SSE Hydro
Wednesday October 24 2018 – DUBLIN 3Arena
Friday October 26 2018 – BIRMINGHAM Genting Arena
Saturday October 27 2018 – CARDIFF Motorpoint Arena
Monday October 29 2018 – LONDON O2 Arena
Tuesday October 30 2018 – BRIGHTON Centre
Thursday November 01 2018 – NOTTINGHAM Motorpoint Arena
Friday November 02 2018 – MANCHESTER Arena

Reviewing Byrne’s latest effort ‘American Utopia‘, NME concluded: “For the Talking Heads traditionalists the most familiar thing here is ‘It’s Not Dark Up Here’. Elsewhere, ‘Doing The Right Thing’ has a tantalisingly banging outro and ‘This Is That’ is a beautiful, theatrical ballad. “The mind is a soft-boiled potato”, he sings at one point.

“Coming from anybody else that’d be ridiculous, but from Byrne, it not only sounds like a reasonable observation, but also kind of profound.”

June Radio David Byrne Presents: American Utopia Family Favorites

More Info