David Byrne Brings American Utopia Tour To Red Rocks – Photos, Setlist & Videos

Via JamBase

Written and Images by: Jeremy Williams

David Byrne :: 08.28.18 :: Red Rocks :: Morrison, CO

One of the year’s most ambitious tours came to one of the nation’s most gorgeous venues this week. David Byrne brought his American Utopia Tour to Red Rocks Amphitheatre in Morrison, Colorado on Monday and Tuesday for a pair of visually stunning concerts. Byrne’s band for the tour features drummers Mauro Refosco, Tim Keiper, Aaron Johnston, Gustavo Di Dalva, Davi Vieira and Daniel Freedman, backing vocalists Chris Giarmo and Tendayi Kuumba, bassist Bobby Wooten, guitarist Angie Swan and keyboardist Karl Mansfield. The group performs a fully choreographed show “untethered” without any wires, amps, drum risers, platforms or monitors on stage.

David Byrne led his band through a 21-song performance at Red Rocks on Tuesday night. The setlist featured seven songs from Byrne’s most recent studio album American Utopia including “Everybody’s Coming To My House,” “Every Day Is A Miracle,” “I Dance Like This” and more. Byrne also pulled a number of tunes from his Talking Heads days such as “I Zimbra,” “Slippery People,” “Born Under Punches (The Heat Goes On)” and “Burning Down The House.” The show came to an emotional climax and conclusion with a stirring cover of Janelle Monae’s “Hell You Talmbout.” Photographer Jeremy Williams was on hand to capture the action. Check out his work [here].

May Radio David Byrne Presents: Brazil in the 21st century

More Info