David Byrne’s ‘Live From Austin, TX’ to Get Vinyl Release

Written by Debra Filcman

A 2007 David Byrne live album is set for a June 2 release on vinyl. New West Records initially released the Talking Heads co-founder’s Live from Austin, TX: David Byrne on CD/DVD in 2007.

Soon available as a two-LP set, the performance comes from Byrne’s appearance on Austin City Limits on Nov. 28, 2001. It includes 13 tracks, and features his solo work as well as Talking Heads classics and a surprise cover of Whitney Houston‘s “I Wanna Dance With Somebody (Who Loves Me).” You can see his performance of “And She Was,” from the 1985 Talking Heads album Little Creatures above.

Check out the track listing below, and you can pre-order the LP at Amazon.

With the exception of their 2002 induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Talking Heads haven’t played together since officially breaking up in 1991. Since then, Byrne has repeatedly rejected all calls for a reunion, most recently in January when he suggested that the financial rewards weren’t worth the hit to his artistic credibility.

“It would make me a lot of money and get a lot of attention,” he said. “It would also probably be quite a number of steps backwards as far as being perceived as someone who does a lot of different things.”

David Byrne, ‘Live from Austin, TX: David Byrne’ Track Listing

1. “(Nothing But) Flowers”
2. “God’s Child”
3. “And She Was”
4. “Once in a Lifetime”
5. “The Great Intoxication”
6. “Marching Through the Wilderness”
7. “The Revolution”
8. “This Must Be the Place (Naïve Melody)”
9. “What a Day That Was”
10. “Desconocido Soy”
11. “Like Humans Do”
12. “Life During Wartime”
13. “I Wanna Dance With Somebody”

June Radio David Byrne Radio Presents: Everyone Does Everything (Afro Psychedelic 2.0)

More Info